Thirty-one MPs now backing Ming

Sharp-eyed readers of the Western Morning News may have noticed that one more MP announced today that they are backing Ming Campbell’s leadership campaign, bringing the total to thirty-one – more than the other two candidates combined. Ming also leads in support from Lords, MEPs and Council Group Leaders.

Andrew George, MP for St Ives and the Isles of Scilly, announced his support in a letter signed by all the Cornish MPs and Paul Tyler, former MP for North Cornwall, backing Ming’s campaign.

As you will know, a substantial number of readers are Liberal Democrat members, and will be able to vote in the leadership election. It is not surprising, therefore, that many have been asking us which candidate we support.

We know all three well – having worked with them – but we have no hesitation in suggesting that our fellow members of the party put Sir Menzies Campbell first on the Ballot Paper.

Our party needs unity, a clear purpose and firm leadership from a man who can get the very best out of the talented team we now have in Parliament.

We believe that Ming is by far the best person to do this. He has the integrity, professionalism and commitment to radical liberalism we need.

Moreover, he has earned the respect of Parliament and the public, especially over his leadership in our opposition to the invasion of Iraq.

Significantly, his very first campaign visit was to Cornwall. Alone of the candidates he himself represents an area of smaller towns and rural communities. He knows (as we know) just how vital it is that our county benefits from a fairer Britain.

We all six urge our Liberal Democrat colleagues in Cornwall to give Ming Campbell their first preference vote.

Colin Breed
MP for South East Cornwall

Andrew George
MP for St Ives and the Isles of Scilly

Julia Goldsworthy
MP for Falmouth & Camborne

Dan Rogerson
MP for North Cornwall

Matthew Taylor
MP for Truro & St Austell

Lord Tyler

Former MP for North Cornwall

Read the full list of supporters »

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to post a comment.